The Senate on Tuesday approved and confirmed the appointments of Eight Supreme Court justices.
President Muhammadu Buhari had through a letter read by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, said that President Muhammadu Buhari, asked the Red Chamber to approve the appointment of the Eight Justices.
President Muhammadu Buhari in the letter stated that the National Judicial Council recommended their appointments.
President Buhari also said that his action was in line with section 231 sub-sections 2 of the 1999 constitution of the National Judicial Council according to their ranking and seniority in the Court of appeal.
The Nominees are Lawal Garba, North West, Helen Ogunwumiju, South West, Abdu Abiko, North West, M.M. Saulawa, North West, Adamu Jauro, North East, Samuel Oseji, South-South, Tijani Abubakar, North East and Emmanuel Agim, South-South.
The Chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele presented the panel’s report of the screening exercise for Senators consideration on Tuesday.
Senator Bamedele said his Committee found that all the Judges are eminently qualified for the high positions and that there was no position against them.
The Senate subsequently confirmed their appointment at plenary.

Comments are Closed