The Delta State Government says it is constructing 9 new technical colleges to the tune of 13.6 billion naira, as part of efforts to drive technological education for speedy development.

The Secretary to the State Government Mr Chiedu Ebie, stated this at Asaba while addressing officers and participants of Course 29 Team 3 of the National Defence College, Abuja who were on a study tour of the state.

Correspondent Joshua Okpanefe was there and his report is presented from our studio.

The Secretary to the State Government, Mr Chiedu Ebie , told the National Defence College Course 29 Team three participants that the Delta State Government was happy to partner with them for the study tour because of  Governor  Ifeanyi Okowa’s keen interest in utilizing technology to advance youth development and industrial growth.

Mr Ebie noted that a total of nineteen new technical colleges , one for every Local Government Area without a functioning technical college  was the original plan for the 2020 fiscal year but government was compelled by the advent of the COVID-19 pandemic to embark on construction of nine in the first instance.

Describing as very apt the theme of the study tour which emphasizes promotion of science and technology towards achieving the fourth industrial revolution, Mr Ebie stated that apart from the various skill acquisition programs to empower the youths, government was keen on revamping the state Information Communication Technology centre following discovery of increase in use of technology in the running of businesses and formal education as a result of the Coronavirus pandemic.

The team leader for the National Defence College, Abuja ,course 29, team 3 study tour to Delta State Air Commander  Adebayo Kehinde said the college one year program was made to  provide strategic leadership training for officers of the armed forces and expressed confidence that their one week stay would be rewarding .   The National Defence College study tour by the course 29 participants would include briefings by the Ministry of Science and Technology, Ministry of Technical Education ,  the Ministry of Higher Education and the office of the Director General State Job Creation Directorate, amongst others.